My Self-Discipline is Killing My Self-Discipline

I told myself nothing would interfere with my writing. I’ve made deadlines and quotas for myself. Trackers to keep up with those quotas and deadlines. I’ve even employed the assistance of little minions and demons to nag me and eat at me from the inside if I fail to meet my self-imposed milestones.

They’re working.

They’re the only ones working.

A little over a week ago, I gave myself 16 weeks to finish my first draft. It was simple. 5k/week minimum words on my novel, three posts a week on my blog. Sounds easy enough, doesn’t it? I mean I can knock that out in two, three days tops on a good week.

Only issue is: I failed to meet both quotas in my first week. And it’s eating me alive!

Good job Demons. Keep it up.

I did have valid reasons (I refuse to say excuses) for not meeting them.

1) This past weekend, when I can usually squeeze in several hours each day to write, I had some company from out of town.  It was a great weekend, and I had an amazing time.

2) During the week, I’m a full time student. Research papers, math homework, seducing teachers for better grades… it’s all for a good cause. It’s this I contribute most of my delinquency too. I’m determined to make and keep the highest grades I can, and so far I’ve been successful at that.

However, I still need to accomplish these dreams. This novel isn’t going to write itself, and neither are the ones after it.  I’m going to be a best-selling author. I’m going to be on  shelves and in kindles. I’m going to make a dent in publishing and then expand into other mediums, all along my way towards conquering the world.

Mark my words, Tribe. I’m going to make this dream happen and I’m happy to have you follow me along my way.