Hiatus Over! Plus more Chapters

So I’m back… WITH SOME NEWS! I didn’t mean to take a mini break following my New Years post, but It happened. I’ve had some things happening, but life is good now. I’ve made some progress on my manuscript, I’ve conquered 1,000 square feet of the world, and chopped some firewood. Old school style. You know. With an axe.

An axe? Like a the dude with blue ox?

Exactly.

During this unplanned hiatus, I wasn’t just sitting on the couch. No. I broke records for cups of coffee ordered at Starbucks. I finished all my rewrites, so now all my chapters are fresh and new. I’ve read/listened to a few books I highly HIGHLY recommend.

First thing first: Because of my unplanned Hiatus,  you lucky tribe warriors get the next two chapters of my manuscript. Chapters 5 & 6 will be added to the end of what you guys already have access to, but to make it easy for you lovely people, just click HERE for your viewing pleasure.

In Chapter 5, we have our first repeat POV character in Jackson. This is where the story starts to pick up and we finally a deeper look into who Jackson is. I truly think he’ll be a fan favorite.

He will be, no doubt.

Then in Chapter 6, we finally see things from Jerrod’s POV. He had a small part in Chapter 2, but now we get to see the troubled teen battle some inner demons. The more I write from his POV, the more I love it. I have plans for him to be a major pivotal character, and this is just the first peek at a boy that will grow before you.

Jerrod is probably here right now. Behind you.

You trying to spoil things?

Me? Nah. I’m just stating facts. He can be anywhere!

This is true. Luckily he’s one of the good guys. Or is he?

Don’t play with me dude. Just get on with the blog post. The people have spoken and they want more!

Okay, So books. I read Ken Follett’s Pillars of Earth.

Yeah, this one. Right here.

Pillars of Earth

It’s easily one of the most ambitious works I’ve ever heard of. So ambitious and large in scope that Follett even stopped writing it the first time he tried because he knew that as a writer, he was currently unable to do the idea in his head justice. Then years later, he finally wrote and published the amazing book, and OMG.

Did you seriously just say OMG?

It’s awesome. What was I supposed to say?

Anything is better than OMG.

You’re right.

It happens.

Set in England during the time of King Henry I and King Henry II, it tells the tale of a Cathedral, and the men who are trying everything in their power to build it. It lets you in on the lives of the people in Kingsbridge, and the troubles that are always thrown their way.

I will say at first I was a bit intimidated. Its over seven hundred pages, and I’ve never read a period piece before. I can honestly say this is one of the best books anyone will ever read. If you are a fan if any genre, you need to check it out. If you are a writer, study this book. Ken Follett will show you that books can cover many years. This one covered more than thirty. Follett will teach you how to set the scene and create characters you love, or love to hate. Every character has their own voice and their own motives. It’s a 10 out of 10 in my opinion.

READ PILLARS OF EARTH. Check it out on Audible. Do something. Just make it a part of your life.

 

The Martian

Next, a book I’m currently reading is The Martian by Andy Weir. His first book—also now a major motion picture staring Matt Damon—is awesome. The movie is awesome too, but this is a book review. I’m not currently finished, and I’ll probably do a more in depth review on it when I am, but you shouldn’t wait until then to read it. It’s laugh out loud funny, but also with a tone of ‘This guy is in trouble’.  It tells the story of Mark Watney—a botanist (someone that deals with plants)and an astronaut—who gets stuck one mars after a sandstorm forces the rest of his crew to evacuate. He’s there. He’s alone. And he makes me laugh so hard I almost piss my pants.

It’s true. Except he doesn’t wear pants.

Check this book out, and you’ll thank me later.

 

Leviathan Wakes

Lastly, I’m currently listening to Leviathan Wakes on Audible. It’s the first book in The Expanse series by James S. A. Corey. At a little under 600 pages, it can feel a little daunting, but honestly, this is how SciFi should be written. It’s deep. It’s detailed and it’s gruesome.

Without spoiling anything, its set 200 years in the future. Humanities population has exploded into the solar system with a vengeance. Earth is so populated that James Holden, an Earther working on an ice hauler comes from a family of (I think it was) 8 mothers and 3 fathers who mixed their genes together to raise one kid. Mars has become a military super power, and the people that have grown up the asteroid belt are tall and thin. This story picks up pretty quick and James and crew find themselves in the middle of a war.

One thing I love about this series (Besides that its now a new show on Syfy channel and looks awesome-I’ve seen the first 5 episodes)is that it’s still being written. Catch on now. Don’t be one of those people that finds out about it long after its concluded.

James Corey is a brilliant writer and sets the scene with such detail that I can tell you that because of this book, I will be adding significant detail to my own manuscripts during the second draft.

Even if you don’t like SciFi, you can find something to love in this book.

Other news: Yesterday, I finally got a bookshelf, and my workspace is a lot less cluttered now. I have a book addiction, so they tend to add up. This has also led to me trying to use my desktop computer a lot more to write.

Bookshelf

Starbucks gets expensive when you drink coffee like I do.

See what I mean… And this isn’t all of them.

My last bit of news is this.

I am accepted to the University of Alabama, and will be pursuing a degree in Aerospace Engineering. I really am a geek.

Yep.

While I do know that school work will be a priority, writing is still my passion. But hey, until I sell a million and twelve copies, a guy needs a day job. This also allows me to use my GI Bill from the navy, and after 9 years of service for my country, I’ll be damned if I’m not taking advantage of free college.

Well that’s it ladies and gents. I’m sorry for the brief disappearing act. Hopefully, it doesn’t happen again. And as always, let me know what you think of the manuscript.