THE STRUGGLE IS REAL VOL. II

In a previous post, I wrote about having to rewrite every chapter I have already written for my work in progress. I was stuck and was dreading having to rewrite a whole chapter, and fearing the ripple affect it was sure to have on the remaining chapters I had to revise as well.

Working through that chapter was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do writing.

Who ever said writing was easy needs to take a sharpened spoon to their eye.

A little harsh?

Harsh? You write a novel and not be affected internally by the characters you create. I melted a guy’s face the other day. What have you done?

I did the same thing. We’re the same person.

Oh boohoo. You wanna cry on my shoulder?

It’s my shoulder too.

Anyways, I was able to get through that chapter after much pain and sorrow. After that, the chapters rolled on smoothly. I tinkered and tweaked. I added and bamboozled. I think there was even a time when I screamed in horror and cried in pain. Reading the chapters I had written had gotten me all excited again about the story and made me feel warm and fuzzy on the inside.

Easy there, cowboy. Children read this.

Oh right.

If you’ve been following along in my first four chapters, you’ve met some of the characters that keep me up at night. Jackson, the escaped prisoner and space pirate.

Pirates? Fuck yes.

You got to see thing from the point of view of Dayna, the daughter and first officer of her father Chris. She’s stuck in the family space trucking business with no idea how to get out of it.

Space truckers? SWEET!

We caught a glimpse of her brother Jerrod, a kid I’m enjoying writing for more and more. I’ve got big plans for this kid. Might even have his own book one day.

More books? It must be heaven.

Then there’s Jonathan, the military guy who’s getting out of the United Space Navy and not a moment too soon if you ask him. I see Han Solo in this guy. Or maybe Malcolm Reynolds. He’s got my resentment for authority and my dashing muscles. Okay, so I don’t know if he’s got my muscles. I don’t even know if I have muscles. He’s still a fun guy to write.

A guy that might have muscles? How cool is that?

And you met Misha. Misha is every guy’s fantasy and nightmare. A beautiful girl that can kick their ass.  She’s also a space pirate, borderline assassin chick who has a fetish for blades and no remorse for her actions. This bitch be cray cray. That’s so hot.

Cray Cray?

I know. I hate that I said it, too.

There is the DELETE key.

This is true.

I’m getting a lot of interest about it. I think once you start seeing the characters, both the ones you’ve read about and the ones yet to show themselves, you’ll get hooked too. You’ll know why this is a story that HAS to be told.

Things are picking up and I’m so excited for the things to come. Hang in there. Spread the word. And keep following for more.

Much love, and thank you all for your support.

PS. For those of you who are also writing, remember. Do it from The Basement.