State of the Union-ish

So I’ve been thinking a lot about this blog and where I want to take it. I don’t want it to be only about my writing, or even just about writing. I want it to be so much more. So you’ll see a lot more about topics I’ve always wanted to write about.  So here’s the long and short of it:

Writing

Writing is a passion of mine. It has been that way for some time now. It’s my one way ticket down the rabbit hole that is my messed up mind.  But Gary, you’re not messed up. Why thank you random reader. Maybe you’re right.  But maybe… just maybe…  I sometimes argue with myself.

Anyways, I digress.  I’m currently working on my first novel. I can’t wait to pump out about 200,000 words of SciFi epicness.  And that’s just the first novel.  I have so much planned for this entire universe that exists in my head. There is currently a trilogy in the plan for the current novel book, plus at least two spinoffs.  You can find more about these stories here. Along with my fiction that I’m hard at work on, there is this blog.  Write Your Wrongs is still in its infancy. Not even that. It’s the foreplay of the accidental kid you pop out nine or so months after you had a one night stand with that girl (or guy) because you lost a bet with your buddy Mark in the last 37 seconds of a football game. A game you don’t even remember who was playing. That’s what this is. Enjoy.

Movies

If you’ve been living under a rock for the past year, you might find yourself uninformed. Well allow me to introduce you to the upcoming movies I’m interested in.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens: The immediate sequel (I think) to the original trilogy. We’re talking more light sabers, more force choking, more aliens shooting laser pistols at other aliens. And we even have the return of Han Solo and Chewie and maybe Luke and Leia too.  Will we see Yoda? I think that is yet to be seen… but if you ask me, I think it’s not a real Star Wars movie unless Yoda shows up.

In Heart of the Sea: A modern retelling of the classic Moby Dick. Some groan with zero interest, but when the God of Thunder meets the King of the Sea, I’m sure it’ll a squash fest of pure wet memories.  No. Not those kind.

The Martian: Okay. I know this one is already out, but I was kind of hoping to read the book before watching the movie. I hear it was pretty good. But between this movie, Interstellar, and Saving Private Ryan, I think the U.S. has spent enough money trying to bring Matt Damon home.  But hey, I’m all about missions to the red planet, and other spacey shit.

Anything Marvel: Yeah. I’m a huge marvel fanboy.  But I grew up collecting these comics.  And with a line-up like this one, and huge over-lapping arcs, how can you not want to see this ambitious precedent setting shit succeed? DC is rapidly falling behind, but with a darker grittier franchise, it’s not impossible to catch up I think. I mean unless they put Will Smith as a bad guy. Wait, they did that? Fuck. But with Jerrod Leto as the Joker, there is still some hope.

Beers

I’m a huge beer fan with a pallet for more on the darker side. Brown Ales, Stouts, Amber Ales. Those things are right up my alley, but I’ll try to be unbiased. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m thinking about a beer review weekly/semiweekly thing. I’ll talk a bit about the beer, the flavor, the brewery, yada yada. Maybe you’ll like it. Maybe you won’t. I don’t really care. But I think I’m going to enjoy the research regardless. I will say that if you’re one of those Anheuser, Coors, or Miller types… you probably need to let your tongue sleep around more.

My current beverage is a sexy little number by New Belgium (and Ben & Jerry’s): Salted Caramel Brownie Brown Ale. Yeah, I kinda feel I’m ordering a double caramel macchiato with slim almond milk and extra whip cream by drinking it, but fuck you, it tastes good.  Admittedly, I didn’t enjoy the first bottle near as much as the second.  It has a very distinct taste that rolls into a smooth sweet after taste.  Give it a shot.

image1

Books:

Remember book reviews? Yeah… those sucked.  I’m gonna try to make them fun. Not for you, but at least for myself.  The worst part is I’m like a book-buying fiend.  I buy books, and they just sit around for a while. But I’m going to try to do a lot more reading. Writers need to read, and judging by this blog, I think it’s safe to say I’m a writer, but the goal is to be the best writer, and to do that, I need to be a better reader. I need to read good books. Books out of genre. Books by successful authors. Books you can’t put down. I was told by someone who said they would break my face if I didn’t to read Ken Follett’s The Pillars of the Earth. It’s a hefty book, but we’ll find out if I make it through it.   Either way, you awesome people get to read the results.

image2

TV

Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, Vikings, The 100, Dare Devil. These are the shows I watch. I need long stories. Not Citcoms.  But occasionally, I’ll watch the Big Bang Theory, but I never know if Penny is going to have long hair, or short hair, or who she’s not sleeping with.  And then there is my guilty pleasure. WWE Wrestling. Tonight is Survivor Series, and the 25th anniversary of the Undertaker. I’ve been looking forward to writing about WWE and their creative choices, but I’ll save that for later.

Politics

Yep. One of the taboo three. I’m not really into all this media hype. Fox shades it towards the Right, NBC to the left. Neither reports all facts, and neither can report one thing without saying the other party is the dumbest thing since the invention of the Spork. Yeah. I like the Spork too, but that would ruin my argument.  So I think when I do talk about politics, I will try to report only the facts, and as much of the facts as possible, alongside my opinion of those facts and my unbiased solution to the problem that is the fucked up media we live in today. Hopefully you will read my posts on politics and feel that what I do have to say leans not to the right or the left, but to the solution. But with the circus show that we have in debates now, and my lack of debate watching, I currently feel I do not have enough information to weigh in heavily on any candidate. Who are you kidding, man? Hillary Clinton is the worst possible candidate you know of! That she is, but….

I’ll save that argument for another post.

Religion

With ISIS running around, refugees a foot, and the Pope saying we’re in WWIII, I think it’s important to point out that this blog will be indiscriminant towards all religions equally. I can say that because I am in fact, not religious. <Insert GASP here>. If you would like to discuss this topic open mindedly without thinking I’m some heathen that needs to be saved or offered up to the gods for sacrifice, or martyred in any way, I would love to engage you in this debate. But I’m not one to believe in something based solely on the idea of faith. For those of you that do wonder, I was raised catholic, and went to church pretty regularly until I moved out on my own. I do have my own theories on religion which I will speak on at some other time, but for now, I would just like to point out that my blog will remain unbiased.

Her

The completion of the taboo trifecta of things to talk about, I’m sure one day I will have millions of words on this topic. However, the current situation is this: I’m currently seeing where life takes me. I have someone special out there, and I’m just waiting on the right moment to talk about it. But I can say this. She keeps me in check.

Video Games

How can you talk about pop culture and not talk about video games? This is probably the most biased of all these topics. The first reason of this is that I’m an XBOX guy. The second being, I don’t get to play a whole lot of games while pursuing my other interests.  That being said, Halo 5 and Fallout 4 just came out. I’ll probably try to get some good reviews on this soon.

 

Well there you have it ladies and gentle ladies.  I’m hoping you can tell how big I want this blog to be. There’s a lot of shit in the making, a lot of people showing interest. I would like thank those of you who are following along, supporting me, and taking the time to read my ramblings.  If you have a book to recommend, a beer I should drink, a political opinion or religious stance you would like to debate, or just any comments in general, please do post them below. There is no advertising budget at the moment, so my following is basically word of mouf Ludacris style.  So tell your mom, tell your friend. Tell your boss its why you overslept. But tell someone.

You can catch me on the twitter bird thing @glbusenlehner or right here at glbusenlehner.wordpress.com.

Peace. Deuces. May the force be with you. The mass has ended, you may go in peace.  You said that. Shut up.